top of page

Author: Megan Rogers

Condition: N

Binding: Paperback

Publisher: Harper Collins Publishing Australia

Year: 2023

 

Absorbing, lyrical, vivid and compulsively readable - The Heart is a Star is beautiful storytelling from a talented new writer. A novel for fans of Holly Ringland, Jacqueline Maley, Hannah Richell.

 

ABOUT THE BOOK

Layla Byrnes is exhausted. She's juggling a demanding job as an anaesthetist, a disintegrating marriage, her young kids, and a needy lover. And most particularly she's managing her histrionically unstable mother, who repeatedly threatens to kill herself.

But this year, it's different. When her mother rings just before Christmas, she doesn't follow the usual script. Instead, she tells Layla that there's something she needs to tell her about her much-loved father. In response, Layla drops everything to rush to her childhood home on the wild west coast of Tasmania. She's determined to finally confront her mother - and find out what really happened to her father - and lay some demons to rest.

 

The Heart is a Star is an engrossing, lyrical and powerfully absorbing novel about the complicated and beautiful messiness of midlife; about the ways in which we navigate an intricate, complicated world; and about how we can uncover our true selves when we are forced to face the myths that make us.

 

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Megan Rogers began her working life as an editorial assistant at Allen & Unwin, before moving to the State Library of Victoria, in Marketing. In 2014 Megan finished a PhD in Creative Writing at RMIT, which resulted in the book, Finding the Plot, A Maternal Approach to Madness in Literature published by feminist publisher Demeter Press. She also has a Bachelor of Arts/Science (Monash), a Diploma of Professional Writing & Editing (RMIT), a Graduate Diploma in Professional Communication (Deakin), and a Masters of Marketing (Monash). Megan lives in the Mornington Peninsula outside Melbourne. The Heart is a Staris her first novel.

 

Instagram: @megan_rogers_writer

meganrogerswriter.com

The Heart is a Star

SKU: F-CO-MR-HS-001
$32.99 Regular Price
$5.00Sale Price

Closing Down Sale $5 books

    Product Page: Stores_Product_Widget
    bottom of page